Maturity Matters

 Maturity can be summed up in Habakkuk’s powerful words that “I will be joyful in God my Saviour”. These were very lean times for God’s people, yet we see true joy found in the creator and not his creation.

  “A personal passionate following to the person of Jesus Christ” (Utmost for His Highest) is a perfect definition for someone who is spiritually mature.

 A look at Psalm 22 gives us another great example to challenge us about spiritual maturity.  Three things stand out to me as David writes this song:

  1) He know’s  God

 Psalm 22:3-4,9,11 (NIV)

Yet you are enthroned as the Holy One; you are the one Israel praises. [4] In you our ancestors put their trust; they trusted and you delivered them.

David and his ancestors have a great history with God. There is a deep knowledge of the Holy One of Israel. Winston Churchill once said that the farther you can look back, the farther you will be able to see on the future.

Do you have a history with God?  Are we daily seeking to know Christ?

 2) He want’s  God

  Psalm 22:1-2,4 (NIV)

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, so far from my cries of anguish? [2] My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer, by night, but I find no rest. [4] In you our ancestors put their trust; they trusted and you delivered them.

David is praying and pleading for God. Not for comfort, food, or anything else. He is a man who’s heart desires God.  Matthew Henry sums up this verse with great insight:

          Spiritual desertions are the saints’ sorest afflictions; but even their complaint of these burdens is a sign of spiritual life, and spiritual senses exercised. To cry our, My God, why am I sick? why am I poor? savours of discontent and worldliness. But, “Why hast thou forsaken me?” is the language of a heart binding up its happiness in God’s favour.

 3) He needs God

 Psalm 22:11,19-20 (NIV)

Do not be far from me, for trouble is near and there is no one to help. [19] But you, Lord, do not be far from me. You are my strength; come quickly to help me.

Deliver me from the sword, my precious life from the power of the dogs..

 

 I can’t express enough the words, “there is no one to help.” There is no one who can help! Except God.  There is no where to turn for help in your distress! Except God. You can’t save yourself! But by Gods great love and mercy, we can be set free. Mature believers put their trust, faith, and hope in Jesus Christ.  He is their exit strategy for all turmoil.  He is their joy.

 What would your friends say about you?  Are you maturing in your faith? Spiritual maturity is not easy!  Make sure you are walking through life with others who can encourage and keep you accountable.

 


Leave a Reply

