Do I Beat Myself Up With God’s Law, Or Do I Recognize Christ Fulfilled God’s Law & Was Beat With God’s Wrath In My Place?

The pastors of old have much to teach us about sin and the gospel. Here is a taste from John Owen, a once Vice Chancellor of Oxford and faithful pastor who published these words in 1656:

“…if a man be so under the power of his lust that he has nothing but law to oppose it with, if he cannot fight against it with the gospel weapons, but deals with it altogether with hell and judgment, which are the proper arms of the law, it is most evident that sin has possessed itself of his will and affections to a very great prevalency and conquest” (Owen, Of The Mortification of Sin in Believers, Ch.9).

After reading this, I was left asking and wondering, “So, where is the hope Pastor Owen? Because my soul is prone to trying to appease God for my sin through good works, which leads to self righteousness and pride if I see myself as able, or I am led to despair if I continually fail. Owen, what do you suggest I do?” Here is what he had to say a few chapters later:

“Set faith at work on Christ for the killing of your sin. His blood is the great sovereign remedy for sin-sick souls. Live in this, and you will die a conqueror; yea, you will, through the good providence of God, live to see your lust dead at your feet” (Owen, Of The Mortification of Sin in Believers, Ch.14).

Romans 8:13 “For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.”

About Daniel Ray
My wife and I live in Waxhaw, NC. Currently, I am a Sales Manager for a flooring company in Charlotte and also a distance student at UNCG. When I have time I like to hear live music, play golf, run, read good books, hike and ride my mountain bike. My wife and I are sinners saved by grace, trying to walk it out in grace.

One Response to Do I Beat Myself Up With God’s Law, Or Do I Recognize Christ Fulfilled God’s Law & Was Beat With God’s Wrath In My Place?

  1. Stephen says:

    Oh the riches of Owen which point back to the glorious riches of the Bible!

Leave a Reply

