Person & Work of The Holy Spirit

As of late everywhere I turn in my reading of scripture, books, blogs,  church, listening to sermons, and podcasts seems to be related to The Holy Spirit. With that kind of nudging it is pretty obviously where God wants me to be focusing my devotion/study time!  As a recently published book is titled Forgotten God, I would have to agree The Holy Spirit is the part of the triune Godhead most churches minimize.  Obviously there are others that put to much weight on the Spirit verses the other two.

Over the next few weeks Richard and myself will be blogging a series on The Holy Spirit.   I do not know what will come of it but we are open to let the Spirit lead.  If I start typing in tongues hopefully a faithful Spirit led reader will place  a translation in the comment area!

So lets leave for now with this passage and a few questions.
Romans 8:9 You, however, are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if in fact the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him.

Who is The Holy Spirit?
What are the Bible promises of the Spirit for us as believers?
What do we expect from Him?

3 Responses to Person & Work of The Holy Spirit

  1. Daniel Ray says:

    This is going to be a good series.

  2. Jeremy Ray says:

    I’m also reading/listening to the Forgotten God audio book and it’s very convicting. Why is it that sometimes it takes a podcast, audiobook or a sermon verbally hammer these truths in our mind and heart in order to understand them. Have we numbed our minds to the point where we don’t understand when, how or where the Holy Spirit is directing our thoughts and our heart? I rest in that conviction knowing that the Holy Spirit is at work in me.

  3. Jamie S says:

    So Steve,
    I look forward to reading this series of posts and I lopwl kd ooweiu ($^kdk ,co0a your response.

Leave a Reply

