Am I going to be okay?

I can’t count how many times I have heard this question over the last couple of years.  Am I going to be okay?  Will this financial crisis ever end?  What about my finances? Is my job going away? Will I ever be able to pay my house off? Will I ever be comfortable again?  There is this gloomy, pessimistic mentality that has pervaded our culture over these last couple of years. Oh how we love to worry about everything!  And this everything that we worry about is so temporal. And yes, I am one of the guilty ones.

A couple of questions I have been thinking about:

1) Who or what are we putting our trust in?   The Bible says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all you ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”  (Proverbs 3:5-6)  Are there any signs of living out this verse in our conversations with friends and coworkers?

2) Are we really ever content?  Paul speaks to this in I Timothy 6:6-8 ”  But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.”

3) What do you want?  What do you really want from this life? Jesus asked this exact question to his disciples in John 1.  What an amazing open ended question to ask them! And what a beautiful picture to think about the disciples picking up their things and following Jesus to where He was staying…spending the whole day with him.  So what do we want?  Safety? Security? All things that make me happy? Or do we want Jesus?  Isaiah 55 says, “1 “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters;  and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.  Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? 
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.”

As I rocked my daughter to bed tonight I told her that she would always be okay. “Why”  she asked.  I said because we have a Father in heaven who loves us.  And He has given us everything we will ever need through his son Jesus.

3 Responses to Am I going to be okay?

  1. Daniel Ray says:

    Man, that is good stuff and just what I needed to chew on today. Lord, propel us to trust you as our Security in insecure times, as our Comfort in times of significant discomfort and our Significance when we feel insignificant.

  2. Robert Lee says:

    Men – I need to read this today, needed it yesterday, and will need it tomorrow- the Father is in control. Thanks
    “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps” Proverbs 16:9

  3. Niles says:

    Am I going to be ok? Will I ever get that big house in the hills? Will ever be ok with my checking account balance? With my savings? With my retirement? With my bills?

    All squashed under the glory and weight of the true gospel. The answer could be (in this life), no! You’re going to die a martyr’s death, and that’s how you’ll glorify God. Or maybe it’s you’ll live your life in mediocre wealth, but I will give you children and a wife to shepherd. The gain or value in the gospel is overwhelming, vision-inspiring, and has nothing to do with dollar bills.

Leave a Reply

