Long Line of Sinners Like Me

As most of you know or don’t know I like country music.  Listening to this song the other day I reflected on the truth in this song’s tag line, “I come from a long line of sinners like me.”  We all can say that because after the fall we were all cursed and bound by original sin.  As Romans 3:23 says, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”  Due to us falling short we are destined for judgement.  Hebrews 9:27 “And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgement” That includes EVERYONE every born except ONE that is bound for that judgement. The judgement is either eternal life or eternal torment.  And thanks to that ONE mentioned earlier there is hope for eternal life!  Ephesians 2:5 &9 “even when we were dead in our trespasses, (God) made us alive together with Christ by grace you have been saved”, 9 “not a result of works so that no one may boast.”  How do we become alive together you might ask?  John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”

What hope we have, though we are sinners and come from a long line of sinners we are cleansed and have eternal life if we believe in Christ!

3 Responses to Long Line of Sinners Like Me

  1. spatola22 says:

    I have always gone back to Psalm 51 when I think of my sin and who my sin is against. This passage has always drawn me closer to God.

    4 Against you, you only, have I sinned
    and done what is evil in your sight,
    so that you are proved right when you speak
    and justified when you judge.

    5 Surely I was sinful at birth,
    sinful from the time my mother conceived me

    Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

    8 Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones you have crushed rejoice.

    9 Hide your face from my sins
    and blot out all my iniquity.

    10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

  2. Daniel Ray says:

    Thank you guys for posting so much truth! Thank you Stephen for showing the depth of our sin and thank you Richard for clarifying who we ultimately sin against when we sin. As you guys mentioned already, once we start to grasp the infinite wrath our sin requires, it is only then we begin to grasp the infinite grace and love of Jesus as we see him standing in our place on the cross, taking on himself all we deserve. Although taking our sin on himself is mind blowing enough, he doesn’t stop there. He gives us his righteousness in exchange for our unrighteousness. Do we deserve that? Are you kidding me, No! One we begin to believe these truths, resurrection starts to happen in us and through us now as we anticipate the final resurrection which Jesus was the firstfruits.

  3. Jeremy says:

    Great truths brothers! Psalm 51 is my prayer right now. Agape Jeremy

Leave a Reply

