Contentment in all Circumstances

Phil 4:11-13
11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Christian contentment, therefore, is the direct fruit of having no higher ambition than to belong to the Lord and to be totally at His disposal in the place He appoints, at the time He chooses, with the provision He is pleased to make.

It was with mature wisdom, then, that the young Robert Murray McCheyne wrote, ‘It has always been my aim, and it is my prayer, to have no plans with regard to myself.’ ‘How unusual!’ we say. Yes, but what people noticed about McCheyne was how content he was to pursue one driving ambition: to know Christ (Phil. 3:10). It is not accidental that when we make Christ our ambition we discover that He becomes our sufficiency and we learn contentment in all circumstances.

In Christ Alone, by Sinclair B. Ferguson, pg. 190

2 Responses to Contentment in all Circumstances

  1. Niles says:

    “It always been my aim, an dit is my prayer, to have no plans with regard to myself.”

    I’m so encouraged by McCheyne. I wonder what that aim looks like practically?

    I wouldn’t mind a new laptop. Mine’s years old and is missing some keys, but otherwise runs ok. Should I get a new one? See? I wonder what this ‘having no plans with regard to [oneself]’ looks like?

  2. Stephen says:

    It should be viewed much like Matthew 6:19-24. Does that passage mean not to save anything for your latter years or is it telling us to keep our eyes on who are contentment and master is when we save up and not do so greedily. Do we treasure the idea of sitting at home idle and having money for stuff more than Christ, or do we treasure saving to be able to do Christs work and mission in our later years when our bodies are not able to do as much as our younger days?

    A new laptop can save you time from loading and have functionality that an old one couldn’t to be used to redeem time/effort. But it could also be an idol to our happiness…. Thats your call 🙂

Leave a Reply

