Are you a bookworm?

“I have many an old book in my library in which there have been bookworms, and I have sometimes amused myself with tracing a worm.  I do not know how he gets to the volume originally, but being there he eats his way into it.  He bores a hole in a direct line, and sometimes I find that he dies before he gets halfway through the tome.  Now and then a worm has eaten his way right through from one wooden cover to another; yes, and through the cover also.  This was a most successful bookworm.

Few of us can eat our way quite so far.  I am one of the bookworms that have not got halfway into my Bible yet; but I am eating my way as fast as I can.  This one thing I have proved to myself beyond all question; I shall never, never exhaust this precious book.  Much less shall I exhaust the wondrous person of my divinely-blessed Lord.  He is that bread which came down from heaven.  He is utterly inexhaustible.”

C. H. Spurgeon, The Treasury of the New Testament (Grand Rapids, 1950), II:365.

When I read this quote I am challenged.  Am I a bookworm of the Bible?  I find myself reading lots of stuff during the day.  While most all of it is edifying and proper in a Christian sense, I tend to give more effort to secondary reading than being a bookworm of the Bible.  Psalm 119:18 comes to mind, “Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.”  My eyes must be open to His word before I can behold these wondrous things.  Are your eyes open?  Are you a bookworm?

6 Responses to Are you a bookworm?

  1. Daniel Ray says:

    So true. What is it about ESPN and our favorite blogs we run to that keeps us running to them? Is it because they seem more relevant and engaging than say, Leviticus? Possibly, we just don’t know how the Scriptures come together into a collective narrative about Yahweh’s redemptive plan for the world, climaxing in Jesus and being fulfilled in the present by the Church. Lord, awaken us by your Spirit to enjoy the endless splendor of your Word.

  2. Niles says:

    Amen to both, guys.

  3. spatola22 says:

    Nice picture.

  4. bob lee says:

    Good stuff guys we need to get back to the basics and gorge ourselves in the Word

  5. Jeremy says:

    Powerful conviction and encouragement! Less of me and more of God and His word!

  6. Jamie says:

    Spurgeon once stated that “Discernment is not a matter of simply telling the difference between right and wrong; rather, it is telling the difference between right and almost right.” This carries implications into our everyday lives as well, not just in terms of right and wrong per se but in choosing that which most glorifies God. In other words it is not a question of “is reading secondary material wrong, but is it the best, most God honoring thing I can do at the moment” so that if the answer is “no” then for him who pursues such a otherwise harmless or even spiritually uplifting thing, to him it is sin.

Leave a Reply

